Wednesday, May 08, 2013

P.S. Be Eleven

P.S. Be Eleven
by Rita Williams-Garcia
Amistad (HarperCollins), on shelves May 21, 2013

In this sequel to One Crazy Summer, the focus is on Delphine, the oldest of the three sisters, who is beginning sixth grade. Delphine has to deal with not having the "right" clothes, not getting the teacher she wanted, and not being able to go to the Jackson Five concert. She's learning to understand her father and grandmother, and she gets to see a part of her sister Vonetta that she didn't know existed.

Periodically, Delphine gets letters from her mother in L.A. Each letter includes, "P.S. Be eleven" at the end, and through the letters, the reader gets to know a softer part of Celine, the girls' mother, than we saw in One Crazy Summer. It's pretty amazing how much of a presence Williams-Garcia creates for Celine with just those letters.

Readers who loved One Crazy Summer will definitely want to spend the school year after that summer with these likable characters.


  1. I ordered this one from Amazon, simply because it was by Rita Williams Garcia....I didn't realize it is a sequel to One Crazy Summer. Now I'm even more excited to get it!

  2. On my summer reading list.

  3. Anonymous5:30 PM

    I just found your blog and I love your descriptions. I just wanted to say thank you! I'm a new teacher and always on the lookout for great resources. Thanks again!


Comment moderation is turned on.